Thursday, March 23, 2006

Lennart Carleson wins the Abel Prize!

Today, it was announced that Lennart Carleson has won the Abel Prize for 2006 for his work on harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems.

You can check out the BBC story here. Here is the link to the Abel Prize web site.

The Abel Prize money is roughly $920,000. The prize is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters in recognition of "outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics" (see here) . The prize will be presented in May by King Harald of Norway as part of a formal ceremony.

The prize is named in honor of the Norwegian mathematican Niels Henrik Abel.